The Sweeny Chamber celebrated 50 years of service in 2015.  The Sweeny Chamber of Commerce began with a building and one city lot on Main Street donated in 1964.
Royce Murphy, president of the Sweeny Merchant’s Association, was elected president of the new Sweeny Chamber of Commerce.  Murphy and other officers elected will serve for three months and will have the job of organizing the Chamber. Permanent officers will be elected after a membership campaign is completed.  Other officers elected to serve with Murphy: H.M. Culpepper, first vice president; R.W. Lortz, second vice president; and J.A. Davis, secretary-treasurer.  Elected to the board of directors were: A.M. Anderson, Red Benedict, R.H. Britton, Marvin Graham, O.K. Hitchcock, Jake Mason, W.R. Rogers, E.N. Windler and R.S. (Bob) Phillips. The group will handle the job of getting bylaws prepared, starting the membership drive and securing a charter.
To become a full-fledged Chamber of Commerce, a new organization must be sponsored by an existing Chamber, and West Columbia has offered its services.
The first year forty-nine firms and individuals had joined the newly organized Sweeny Chamber of Commerce.
Mrs. Ann Andrews was the first Executive Director and her salary was $35.00 a month. 
In December of 1978, O.K. Hitchcock presented the deed to the building at 112 Main Street, to the Sweeny Chamber of Commerce.
In 2007, the Chamber relocated to the original City Hall Office on Third Street. The Chamber had outgrown the small building on Main Street.
Today the Chamber has over 140 members. Our purpose is to promote and advance the commercial, agricultural, industrial, civic and general interests of the trade area as bounded by the Sweeny Independent School District.  The Chamber activities shall be non-profit, non-partisan and non-sectarian.